Planning a Komodo Trip

Komodo National Park Fees

What the park actually charges, who sets the rates, how SiOra collects them, and which costs sit with the operator rather than the state.

Casually dressed travelers stepping from a tender onto a simple island jetty with local staff nearby
The short answer

Entry to Komodo National Park is charged by statute, not by your operator. The headline figure for a foreign visitor is a park entrance fee per person per day, with separate charges for diving, for the boat itself and for special uses such as drones. Indonesian visitors and student groups pay lower rates, and those rates rise on public holidays. Everything is reserved and paid through SiOra, the park’s official system, before you travel.

How this page is sourced. The amounts below are generated from the statutory schedule set by Peraturan Pemerintah No. 36 Tahun 2024 and carry their own verification stamp. That schedule was re-checked on 19 September 2026 against reporting of the park authority’s tariff briefing and current Ministry of Forestry notices, and had not changed. No figure on this page is an operator quote or a competitor’s price list.

Who charges what

There are two different things people mean by “Komodo fees”, and confusing them is where most of the disagreement online comes from.

Official charges are set by government regulation. They go to the state, the amounts are published, and they are the same whichever operator you book with. They are what this page covers.

Operator charges are the boat fare, guides, transfers, equipment rental and service. They vary enormously between vessels and are not regulated. A cheap trip and an expensive trip pay identical park fees; what differs is everything else.

A quoted “all-in” price may or may not have the official charges inside it. That single question — are park fees included or extra — is the one to ask in writing before paying a deposit.

The official fee schedule

These are the statutory rates for Komodo National Park, which is classified as a Class I national park under the regulation. Rates are per person per day unless stated, and they stack: an entrance fee applies, and then any activity or special-use charge applies on top of it.

What you pay Amount Basis
Park entrance, foreign visitor Rp 250,000 ≈ $14 per person, per day The statutory Class I entrance rate. The 150% holiday rule applies to Indonesian visitor and student rates, not this foreign visitor rate.
Park entrance, Indonesian visitor, normal day Rp 50,000 ≈ $3 per person, per day The normal-day Class I entrance rate.
Park entrance, Indonesian visitor, holiday or collective leave Rp 75,000 ≈ $4 per person, per day 150% of the normal Indonesian visitor rate on the dates covered by the statutory holiday rule.
Indonesian student group, normal day Rp 25,000 ≈ $1 per person, per day For Indonesian student groups of at least five people.
Indonesian student group, holiday or collective leave Rp 37,500 ≈ $2 per person, per day 150% of the normal student-group rate; the minimum group size remains five.
Scuba diving activity Rp 25,000 ≈ $1 per diver, per day A separate activity charge in addition to the applicable entrance fee.
Motorised vessel entry Rp 100,000–200,000 per boat, per day Rp 100,000 for 40–100 HP, Rp 150,000 for 101–500 HP, and Rp 200,000 above 500 HP.
Drone use Rp 2,000,000 ≈ $112 per unit, per day A separate special-use charge. Complete the required SiOra/SIMAKSI process before travel.
  • SiOra is the park’s e-ticketing and SIMAKSI system. Reserve before travel; Ministry guidance recommends completing the reservation by H-1. An operator can assist, and self-service is available at the Komodo Visitor Center and KP3 terminal.
  • Payment is cashless through the methods available in SiOra, including BRIVA or bank transfer and supported e-wallets. Keep the e-ticket and ensure the traveller details are correct.
  • A 1,000-visitor daily quota has applied since 1 April 2026 to the main visitor islands and 23 dive sites. Availability therefore depends on the travel date and registered itinerary.
  • The final SiOra total can include entrance, activity, vessel and special-use charges. Ask the handling operator for an itemised total before issuance.
  • Official public guidance does not state one universal refund or rescheduling rule for every reservation. Confirm the current SiOra terms in writing before the ticket is issued, including treatment of weather disruption.

Statutory fees under Peraturan Pemerintah No. 36 Tahun 2024, in force since 30 October 2024. Verified 31 August 2026 against the official PP 36/2024 schedule, the Ministry of Forestry SiOra notice and the Ministry’s 2026 quota notice. Amounts are payable in rupiah; dollar figures are courtesy estimates converted at Rp 17,900 and rounded.

How the components add up

The way to read the table is as a set of separate charges rather than a single ticket price, because what you owe depends on who you are, what you do and how long you stay.

  • Entrance is per person, per day. A multi-day trip inside the park is charged for each day, not once for the trip.
  • Nationality changes the rate, not the access. Foreign and Indonesian visitors pay different statutory amounts.
  • The holiday uplift is a rule, not a surcharge invented locally. It applies to the Indonesian visitor and student-group rates on the dates the regulation covers, and it does not apply to the foreign visitor rate.
  • Diving is an activity charge on top of entrance, not instead of it.
  • The vessel is charged separately, banded by engine power. This is levied on the boat rather than on you, and it is normally inside the fare rather than itemised to guests.
  • Special uses cost far more than entry. Drone flying in particular carries a charge many multiples of a person’s entrance fee, and it needs a permit arranged in advance — not a decision to make from the sundeck.

Because of that stacking, there is no single universal Komodo ticket price, and any page that gives you one number has simplified something away. Work out your own total from the rows that apply to your party, your nationality mix, your activities and the number of days you will be inside the park.

Travelers stepping from a tender onto a small island jetty with a luxury phinisi nearby

How you actually pay: SiOra

Since July 2025 the park has run reservations and ticketing through SiOra, its own digital system, which also handles the SIMAKSI permits for activities such as research, photography, videography and drone use. It is the official channel, and it replaced the older arrangements travellers may still find referenced elsewhere.

What matters in practice:

  • Reserve before you travel. Ministry guidance recommends completing the reservation at least the day before the visit, because mobile coverage inside the park is unreliable.
  • Your operator usually does this for you on a booked trip, against the vessel’s scheduled departure. Independent visitors can reserve themselves, and self-service is available at the Komodo Visitor Center and the KP3 terminal in Labuan Bajo.
  • Payment is cashless, through the methods SiOra supports — a BRI virtual account or bank transfer, and supported e-wallets.
  • Check the traveller details on the e-ticket before it is issued, and keep it. Names and nationalities drive the rate applied.

The quota, and why it now affects cost

Since 1 April 2026 the park has operated a daily visitor cap of 1,000 people, administered through the same system. The park authority has also published annual carrying capacities for individual areas, and for 23 dive sites, and Padar is managed in timed sessions rather than one daily allocation.

The cap does not change any fee. What it changes is availability, and therefore what a late booking costs you in practice: in peak months the constraint is whether a slot exists on your date at all. The best time to visit guide covers which months that bites hardest in, and the how many days in Komodo guide covers how the number of days inside the park drives the per-day charges.

Travelers reviewing a Komodo itinerary and fee checklist with a local coordinator in Labuan Bajo

What is usually included, and what usually is not

There is no industry-wide standard here, so treat this as what to check rather than what to expect.

ItemCommonlyAsk about
Boat fare, cabin, crew, mealsIncludedWhich meals, and drinking water
Vessel entry chargeAbsorbed by the operatorWhether it is itemised to guests
Park entrance and activity chargesVaries — often excludedIncluded or extra, and for how many days
Ranger and guide fees on the islandsVariesWhether a tip is expected on top
Airport and hotel transfersVariesBoth directions, or arrival only
Dive equipment, nitrox, coursesUsually extraRental rates per day, in writing
Drone or professional photography permitsNot includedWho files the SIMAKSI, and when

The reason this matters is arithmetic rather than principle. On a multi-day trip for a group of foreign visitors, the stacked per-person, per-day charges are a meaningful line item. Two quotes that look a few per cent apart can differ by considerably more once one of them turns out to exclude them.

Refunds, changes and weather

This is the weakest part of the public picture, and it is better to say so than to invent a rule.

Official public guidance does not set out one universal refund or rescheduling rule covering every reservation. Meanwhile the thing most likely to disrupt your trip — the harbourmaster suspending sailings when the sea is forecast to be dangerous — is outside both your control and your operator’s.

So before the ticket is issued, get in writing: what happens to the park reservation if the sailing is cancelled or curtailed, whether it can be moved to another date, and who carries that cost. Ask the same question of your travel insurer.

Before you pay, check these

  • Are park entrance and activity charges included in the quoted price, or added later?
  • How many days inside the park is the quote based on?
  • Does the quote use the correct nationality rate for everyone in the party?
  • Does your date fall on a public holiday, if anyone in the party pays the Indonesian rate?
  • If you dive, is the diving activity charge counted for each diving day?
  • Who makes the SiOra reservation, and when will you see the e-ticket?
  • Is there an itemised total rather than one rounded figure?
  • What happens to the reservation if the weather stops the boat?

Once the cost side is clear, the trip decisions themselves sit on the Komodo tour hub for packages and the liveaboard hub for vessels. Divers should also read the Komodo diving hub, since the diving activity charge applies per diving day and dive trips spend more days inside the park. Background on the park itself is on the Komodo National Park pillar, and how to get there is covered in the getting to Labuan Bajo guide.

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to enter Komodo National Park?

There is no single figure. A foreign visitor pays a statutory entrance fee per person per day, with separate charges for diving, for the vessel and for special uses. Indonesian visitors and student groups pay lower statutory rates, which rise on public holidays. Build your total from the schedule above using the rows that apply to your party and the number of days you will be inside the park.

Are Komodo park fees included in tour prices?

Sometimes, and there is no standard. The vessel charge is normally absorbed by the operator; the per-person entrance and activity charges often are not. Ask for an itemised total in writing before paying a deposit.

Do Indonesian and foreign visitors pay the same?

No. The regulation sets different statutory rates by nationality, with a further reduced rate for Indonesian student groups of at least five people. The holiday uplift applies to the Indonesian visitor and student rates, not to the foreign visitor rate.

Do divers pay extra in Komodo?

Yes. Scuba diving carries a separate statutory activity charge per diver per day, which is additional to the entrance fee rather than a replacement for it.

Can I pay park fees in cash on arrival?

Payment runs through SiOra by cashless methods, and the reservation is meant to be completed before travel — Ministry guidance suggests at least the day before. Self-service is available at the Komodo Visitor Center and the KP3 terminal, but arriving in peak season without a reservation is a poor bet given the daily cap.

Do I need a permit to fly a drone in Komodo?

Yes, and it is expensive. Drone use carries a statutory special-use charge per unit per day and requires the SIMAKSI permit process to be completed in advance through SiOra. It is not something to arrange once you are aboard.

Are park fees refundable if the trip is cancelled?

Official public guidance does not state one universal rule. Confirm the current terms in writing before the ticket is issued, including what happens if sailings are suspended for weather, and check what your travel insurance covers.

Malone Pelada
Malone Pelada

Komodo Insider tracks every liveaboard, tour and operator sailing out of Labuan Bajo. Our guides are written against the same fleet data that powers the directory, and rechecked whenever park rules or prices move.

Comments

  • No comments yet.
  • Add a comment